First Spouse Series – Elizabeth Monroe 2008

The First Spouse Gold Coins

The United States Mint is honoring our nation’s first spouses by issuing one-half ounce $10 gold coins featuring their images in the order they served as first spouse.  The United States Mint issues First Spouse Gold Coins on the same schedule as the Presidential $1 Coins honoring the presidents.

The 2008 Elizabeth Monroe Gold Coin began the second year of the 24 karat gold series to honor the First Ladies of the United States. Some of the early excitement had faded, leading to reduced mintages. The obverse of the coin, designed by Joel Iskowitz and sculpted by Don Everhart, features a portrait of the First Lady. The reverse of the coin, designed by Donna Weaver and sculpted by Charles Vickers, depicts Elizabeth Monroe at a reception for the reopening of the White House held in 1818.

Coins were released on February 28, 2008 and limited to a maximum authorized mintage of 40,000. The coins eventually sold a combined total of 12,452 across both proof and uncirculated options.

To learn more about the 2008 Elizabeth Monroe First Spouse Gold Coin, mintage facts, history and specifications, download this FREE pamphlet today!

Are you ready to buy?